SPORTS MILESTONE Fifth Year of Pacquiao’s Eighth Division World Crown Win Recalled



MANILA  (via PhlAmPress) – Only few would probably remember that five years ago last Friday, November 13, Filipino boxing legend Manny Pacquiao completed his historic eight-division world championship conquest to emerge the only man in boxing history to accomplish the feat.
On that day, before a huge 50,000 plus spectators at the cavernous Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, the then 32-year-old  Pacquiao beat Mexican Antonio Margarito black and blue to capture the vacant World Boxing Council super-welterweight jewel.
That title victory, the Pacman, already a recipient of the “Fighter of the Decade” accolade from the Boxing Writers Association of America as well as three “Fighter of he Year” awards from the same organization and Ring Magazine, came as the latest addition to the Filipino’s belt collections since crowning himself the WBC flyweight titlist in 1998.
Pacquiao took Thai Chatchai Sasakul’s 112-pound crown by knocking out the then defending champ in the eighth round.  
The crown jewel win over the big, hard-hitting Margarito, which, incidentally, led to his retirement, was actually, the Sarangani Congressman’s third for the month of November in his rich collection that includes the the Ring featherweight plum and the World Boxing Organization welterweight plums.
It was on November 15, 2003 when the now congressman and senatorial candidate took the 126-pound diadem over Mexican legend Marco Antonio Barrera. 
Six years later on November 14, 2009, Pacquiao dethroned Puerto Rican Miguel Cotto as the WBO 147-pound kingpin via a 12-round technical knockout annihilation that, incidentally, remains as his last triumph via stoppage.
Rounding out Pacquiao’s eight-division championship triumphs are  the International Boxing Federation super-bantamweight on a 6th-round TKO of Lehlo Ledwaba in 2001, his first under trainer Freddie Roach, 
WBC super-featherweight at the expense of Juan Manuel Marquez in 2008, WBC lightweight via 9th -round TKO of David Diaz , also in 2008, and International Boxing Organization/Ring junior-welterweight titles on a 2nd round KO of Ricky Hatton in 2009. 
The Kibawe, Bukidnon-born’s  last defense of his WBO welterweight  title came also in the month of November when he unanimously decisioned New Yorker former martial arts campaigner Chris Algieri two years ago at the Cotai Arena at the posh Venetian Resort Hotel in Macau. 
He lost the title on a questionable decision to American Timothy Bradley in 2012, the same year he was knocked out by Marquez, but regained the same 22 months later.    
Impressive victories over Mexican Hall of Famer to be Barrera, Erik Morales and Marquez earned for the father of five with Sarangani Vice Gov. Jinkee the moniker “The Mexicutioner.” 
An 8th-round demolition of legendary and Olympic gold medalist Osca DeLa Hoya on December 6, 2008 catapulted the Filipino hero to the pound-for-pound throne. 
All throughout his career that started in 1995, Pacquiao has fought 18 current and former world champions — Bradley, Marquez, Mosley, Margarito, Joshua Clottey, Cotto, Hatton, DeLa Hoya, Diaz, Barrera, Jorge Solis, Morales, Oscar Larios, Jorge Julio, Agapito Sanchez, Ledwaba, Medgeon Lukchaopormasak and Sasakul. 
Counting the WBC International super-bantamweight and the WBC super-bantamweight and super-featherweight crowns he wore at one time or another, Pacquiao had actually won 10 world titles, again, the most by any fighter in this era. (Eddie G. Alinea/PhilAmPress)  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here